Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
CIES Board of Directors
Share |

CIES Board of Directors

The Board is the legislative and policy-making body of the Society, with the power to review and direct the general affairs of the Association.

The Board has 18 members including 7 elected officers, 2 student representatives, 8 regular members and the appointed Editor of the CER journal. Elected officers of the Board are the President, President-elect, Immediate Past President, Vice-President, Board Treasurer, Board Secretary, and Historian.

The elected officers, along with the Editor of the CER constitute the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee manages the day to day requirements of the Board and serves as an advisory group to the Board as a whole. It has the power to act on behalf of the full Board between meetings and on other matters as determined by the Board.

Two other persons  participate in the Executive Committee and Board activities, serving as advisors to the Board in a non-voting capacity. The Parliamentarian works with the President to ensure that procedures and motions in meetings are carried out according to the Society's policies, rules and procedures. The Executive Director advises the Board on all the business and operational matters of the Society.

For more information on the Board and its leadership role go here.

Executive Committee

David Post


Professor, The Pennsylvania State University

Iveta Silova

President Elect

Professor, Arizona State University

Regina Cortina

Past President

Professor of Education, Teachers College Columbia University

Karen Monkman


Professor, Social and Cultural Foundations in Education, DePaul University

Amber Gove


Director of Research, RTI International

Tavis Jules

Interim Secretary (appointed)

Associate Professor, Loyola University Chicago

Bjorn H. Nordtveit

Editor, Comparative Education Review

Department of Educational Policy, Research & Administration, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Esther E. Gottlieb

CIES Historian

Special Advisor for International Affairs and Associate Professor of Comparative and International Education, The Ohio State University

Najeeb Shafiq

Executive Director

Professor of Education, Economics, and International Affairs, University of Pittsburgh

Board Members at Large(3 year terms)

Ameena Ghaffar-Kucher


Senior Lecturer, Associate Director of Int’l Educational Development Program, University of Pennsylvania, Graduate School of  Education

Emily Morris


Student Representative, University of Minnesota

Anne Mungai


Professor and Interim Dean, Ruth S. Ammon School of Education, Adelphi University

Moses Oketch


Professor of International Education Policy and Development & Director, UCL Centre for  Education and International Development, University College London

Aryn Baxter


Executive Director of International Programs, University of Idaho

Riyad Shahjahan


Associate Professor, Department of Educational Administration, Michigan State University

Norin Taj


Student Representative, OISE–University of Toronto

Kristen Molyneaux


Vice President, Social Impact, Lever for Change, A John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Affiliate

Francine Menashy


Associate Professor, University of Massachusetts Boston

Board Minutes

The minutes of the CIES Board's meetings are always available to current members.

Minutes for previous years are available in the File Libraries which can be accessed in the Members Area. You must be logged in as a member to access the Members Area.

Office of the Executive Director
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th ST, PC 244D
Miami, FL 33199
United States

Site Map

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy| Contact Us

Phone: +1.305.348.5464 | Email:            Copyright 2018 Comparative and International Education Society, Inc. All rights reserved