Print Page   |   Report Abuse
Honorary Fellows Award
Share |

The Honorary Fellows Award was established by CIES in 1982 to honor senior members of the society who, through a period of life-long service and contribution to the field of comparative and international education as evidenced by scholarship, teaching, research and technical service, have advanced the field qualitatively and significantly. The award was established to recognize those scholars who have made the most marked contributions to growth in the field.

The criteria for selection of CIES Honorary Fellows are as follows:

  • An outstanding record in two of the following areas in comparative and international education, and an adequate involvement in the third area:

               -  Scholarly research and publication

               -  Teaching and mentoring

                -  Policy, planning, evaluation, technical assistance and administrative activities

  • A significant contribution to the development and quality of the Society
  • A long and distinguished career spanning more than 30 years; normally the candidate will be 60 years or older
  • Long and active membership in CIES, including the years immediately prior to nomination

The CIES Awards Committee invites nominations for the Honorary Fellows Award to be considered in the current year, confirmed by the Board of Directors in the following year, and awarded at the Annual Meeting of CIES in the year after confirmation. 

Nomination of candidates must be supported by the following items:
  • A letter of nomination by the chief nominator outlining the case for the nomination, with input if desired by the other nominators, and signed by the chief nominator
  • A minimum of five supporting letters from five current members of the CIES outlining the candidate’s strengths in each of the relevant areas. Additional letters from non-CIES members may be added at the discretion of the nominator
  • A copy of the candidate’s full academic curriculum vitae for their entire career.

These documents should be submitted by email attachment to the Honorary Fellows Award Chair.  The deadline for nominations is November 15, 2017.

The nominator is also requested to preserve a hard copy of the entire package with original signed letters to be sent to the CIES Archives after the nomination and decision process is completed. 

Mailing address:
CIES Office of the Executive Director
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th Street, PC 244D
Miami, FL 33199


Honorary Fellows

Claude Eggersten
Arnold Anderson

Harold Noah
Philip Foster

Mary Jean Bowman
Andreas Kazamias
Gerald H. Read
Murray Thomas

Max A. Eckstein

Noel McGinn

Don Adams

Roland Paulston

Elizabeth Sherman Swing

Norma Tarrow

Mathew Zachariah

Robert Arnove

Joseph P. Farrell
William M. Rideout

Vandra Masemann

Martin Carnoy

John Hawkins

Ruth Hayhoe

Erwin Epstein

Val Rust

David Evans

Robert Lawson

John (Jack) Schwille

Henry M. Levin
Nelly P. Stromquist

Beverly Lindsay
Francisco (Chiqui) Ramirez


David Chapman

Ratna Ghosh

Steven J. Klees

Carlos Alberto Torres


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal