Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse
Topic Based SIGs
Share |

   

African Diaspora SIG

The African Diaspora SIG seeks to foster a community of scholars and practitioners to engage with the historical contexts and contemporary educational experiences of Black communities across the globe.  A broader analysis of the educational realities of African descendants within and outside the United States offers the opportunity to review similar and different challenges, lessons, and new possibilities.

Chair:  Nafees Khan, Clemson University (nkhan04@gmail.com)
Chair:  Kassie Freeman, African Diaspora Consortium (ADC) (kfreeman@adcexchange.org)



 Citizenship and Democratic Education SIG

The Citizenship and Democratic Education SIG seeks to create an active community of educators and researchers, to share their views and encourage productive debate on various aspects of citizenship and democratic education, in the United States and around the world.

Chair: Kristina Brezicha, Georgia State University (kbrezicha@gmail.com)
Chair: Michelle Bellino, University of Michigan (bellino@umich.edu)
Secretary: Erica Sausner, Pennsylvania State University (esausner@gmail.com)
Web coordinator: Merethe Skårås, Oslo and Akershus University College (merethe.skaras@hioa.no)



 Contemplative Inquiry and Holistic Education SIG

Welcome to the Contemplative Inquiry and Holistic Education SIG!  Our SIG seeks to address holistic development and integration of learners' mind, body, and spirit through contemplative means.

Chair: Tom Culham, University of British Columbia (tom.culham@gmail.com)
Chair: Charles Scott, Simon Fraser University (charless@sfu.ca)
Secretary: Sachi Edwards, University of Maryland (sachiteresa@gmail.com)
Newsletter Coordinator: Hyeyoung Bang Professor, Bowling Green State University (hbang@bgsu.edu)

 


Cultural Contexts of Education and Human Potential SIG

The Cultural Contexts of Education and Human Potential SIG aims to make the case for the necessity of including the voices of individuals often unheard and to promote better understanding and learning between and about different groups. Moreover, it is also intended to demonstrate how the underutilization of the voices of different cultures has led to the underutilization of their potential.

Chair: Cristina Jaimungal, OISE/University of Toronto (c.jaimungal@mail.utoronto.ca)
Chair: Maung Nyeu, Harvard University (maung_nyeu@mail.harvard.edu)
Communications Chair: Anthony Ray, George Mason University (aray6@masonlive.gmu.edu)
Finance: Tang Tang Heng, National Institute of Education, Singapore (tangtang.heng@nie.edu.sg)

 


 Early Childhood Development SIG

 

The Early Childhood Development SIG seeks to foster exchange & strengthen linkages between ECD research and practice; help keep members abreast of new developments in the field; build linkages among various ECD networks nationally and internationally; prepare ECD thematic sessions at the next CIES conference.

Chair: Melissa Kelly, ChildFund International (mkelly@childfund.org)
Chair: Bethany Wilinski, Michigan State University (bethanyw@msu.edu)

 


Economics and Finance of Education SIG

The Economics and Finance of Education-SIG (EFE-SIG) focuses on investigating, conceptualizing, and theorizing the links between Economics and Finance of Education Policies. The EFE-SIG offers a new opportunity for scholars interested in the following topics:

·        Redistribution, political philosophy, economics, and financing schooling systems

·        International aid and mechanisms of redistribution

·        Education finance, economics, and poverty reduction

·        Financing education and theories of justice

·        Theories of learning, knowledge and knowledge economics

·        School finance, adequacy, and equity in resource allocation

·        Equality of Educational Opportunity and its effect on society.

·        Teachers’ effectiveness, incentives and rewards

·        Charter schools and school based management

·        Higher education finance and learning networks

·        Early childhood finance

·        Special education finance

·        State competitiveness, social cohesiveness and mechanisms of reallocation

The EFE-SIG is important as it suggests a unique perspective. We aim to contribute to the perception of Economics and Finance of Education as a global issue and not just a national issue. In addition, we highlight the importance of the EFE-SIG, as currently Education Finance issues are rarely addressed from the perspective of Comparative Education. 

Chair: Iris Ben David-Hadar, Bar Ilan University, Israel  (iris.hadar@biu.ac.il)
Chair: Lynn Llon, Seoul National University (lynnilon@snu.ac.kr)
Secretary: Ji Liu, Teacher College Columbia University (jl4103@tc.columbia.edu)
 


Education, Conflict, and Emergencies SIG


The SIG on Education, Conflict, and Emergencies brings together CIES members around a broad range of research and programmatic activities including education during armed conflict and natural disasters; educational reconstruction post-conflict and post-disaster; and the relationships between educational provision and peace-building, transitional justice, and resilience across conflict-affected, post-conflict, and fragile states.

Chair: S. Garnett Russell, Teachers College, Columbia University (sgrussell@tc.columbia.edu)
Chair: Mieke Lopes Cardozo, University of Amsterdam (T.A.LopesCardozo@uva.nl)
Secretary: Julia Lerch, Stanford University (jlerch@stanford.edu)

 


Environmental and Sustainability Education SIG

 The Environmental and Sustainability Education SIG promotes scholarly research and professional activities of those concerned with the intersection of education (broadly defined) and sustainable development. Specifically, the SIG explores how the discourse and practice of sustainable development affect educational institutions and how educational institutions facilitate the development of knowledge, skills, behaviors and attitudes needed for sustainable development.


Chair: Michael Russell, Centenary University (russellm@centenaryuniversity.edu)
Interim Program Chair: Sophy Cai, University of Illinois  (caixiuying@gmail.com)
Former Chair: Mousumi Mukherjee, Consultant, Australia-India Institute (mousumi@illinoisalumni.org)

 


Global Literacy SIG

The Global Literacy SIG is organized around key issues in reading and writing instruction and assessment and larger issues and implications of literacy use throughout the world.


Chair: Barbara Trudell, SIL Africa (barbara_trudell@sil.org)
Chair: Peggy Dubeck, RTI International (dubeck@rti.org)

 


Global Mathematics Education SIG

 

The Global Mathematics Education SIG The purpose of the Global Mathematics Education SIG is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners from around the world to discuss theory, practices, and techniques related to mathematics learning starting in early childhood to tertiary education.

Chair: Yasmin Sitabkhan, RTI International (ysitabkhan@rti.org)
Chair: Linda Platas, San Francisco State University (lplatas@sfsu.edu)
Program Coordinator:  Mindy Eichhorn, Gordon College (mindyeichhorn@gmail.com)
Secretary: Kiruba Murugaiah (kirumuru@gmail.com)
Communications Chair: Leanne Ketterlin-Gellar (lkgeller@mail.smu.edu)
Student Representative: Amanda Lowry (amanda.lowry@gse.rutgers.edu)
Treasurer: Lindsey Perry (leperry@mail.smu.edu)

 


Globalization and Education SIG

 The Globalization and Education SIG seeks to provide a forum where researchers and practitioners involved in global study of comparative and international education have meaningful conversations and exchanges of ideas related to globalization and education.


Chair: Will Brehm, University of Tokyo (will.brehm@gmail.com)
Chair: D. Brent Edwards, University of Hawaii-Manoa (dbrente@gmail.com)
Program Chair: Chrissie Monaghan, New York University (chrissie.monaghan@gmail.com)
Student Representative: Eric Layman, Indiana University (ewlayman@indiana.edu)
Secretary: Rolf Straubhaar, University of Georgia (rolf@uga.edu)

 


Higher Education SIG

 The Higher Education SIG serves as a networking hub for promoting scholarship opportunities, critical dialogue, and linking professionals and academics to the international aspects of higher education.


Chair: Jorge Enrique Delgado, University of Pittsburgh (jed41@pitt.edu)
Chair:  Meggan Madden, Middlebury Institute of International Studies (meggan_madden@email.gwu.edu)
Secretary: Wen Wen
Secretary-elect: Meseret Hailu, University of Denver (Meseret.Hailu@du.edu)
Program Chair: Gerardo Blanco-Ramirez, University of Massachusetts-Boston (Gerardo.Blanco@umb.edu)
Program Chair Elect: Christina Yao, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (cyao@unl.edu)
Awards Committee Chair:  Rebecca Clothey, Drexel University (
rac52@drexel.edu)

 


ICT4D SIG

ICT4D (ICT for Development) is an outlet for members of the Comparative and International Education Society (CIES) to collaborate with, learn from, and create bonds that will heighten interest and research in this ever growing area.


Chair: Jayson W. Richardson, San Diego State University (jayson.richardson@sdsu.edu)
Chair: Jeffery Lee, Brandman University (jeff003@msn.com)
Chair: Erik Jon Byker, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (ebyker@uncc.edu)
Program Chair: Megan Smith, IREX (megsimone611@gmail.com)

 


Inclusive Education SIG

The Inclusive Education SIG seeks to elicit the participation of scholars interested in educational issues specific to the multiple meanings of IE and, accordingly, to learners who are marginalized due to special educational needs. These might include: disabilities, second language acquisition, poverty, racial and ethnic discrimination, social exclusion, etc.


Chair: Matthew Schuelka, University of Birmingham (m.schuelka@bham.ac.uk)
Program Chair: Kate Lapham, Open Society Foundations (kate.lapham@opensocietyfoundations.org)

 


Indigenous Knowledge and the Academy SIG

The Indigenous Knowledge and the Academy SIG consists of CIES members, members of indigenous communities, and practitioners who want to dialogue about ways to develop alternative knowledge and how this can be used to interact with, and transform the academy.


Chair: Tutaleni I. Asino, Oklahoma State University (tutaleni.asino@okstate.edu)
Chair: Miye Tom (miyetom@gmail.com)

 


Language Issues SIG

 The Language Issues SIG is a network of researchers and practitioners working to understand the role of language(s) in education, as well as the role of the languages of instruction in differing, and often contentious, political and cultural contexts.


Chair: Anna Farrell, University of Minnesota (farre223@umn.edu)
Chair: Chris Shephard, USAID (christophershephard@yahoo.com)
Program Chair: Stephen Bahry, University of Toronto (stephen.bahry@gmail.com)
Communication Chair: Cassie Puls, IRC (cass.puls@gmail.com)

 


Large-Scale Cross-National Studies in Education SIG

The Large-Scale Cross-National Studies in Education SIG is the newly established SIG with the mission to promote research related to large-scale cross-national studies in education. The SIG will provide a space within CIES for interaction between scholars who are contributing to the three aforementioned lines of research. Also, the SIG will bring together scholars and practitioners who are designing and implementing international assessments of educational achievement.


Chair: David Rutkowski, University of Oslo (david.rutkowski@cemo.uio.no)
Chair: Laura Engel, George Washington University (lce@gwu.edu)

 


Peace Education SIG

The Peace Education SIG brings together members of the Comparative and International Education Society with common interests in the study of peace and conflict, human rights, and social justice in education.


Chair: Maria Hantzopoulos,Vassar College (mahantzopoulos@vassar.edu)
Chair: Cheryl Duckworth, Nova Southeastern University (cheryl.duckworth@nova.edu)
Communications Officer: Marios Antoniou, Teachers2Teachers-International (antonioumarios@outlook.com)

 


Post-Foundational Approaches to Comparative and International Education SIG

The SIG was initiated to provide a dedicated space for comparative education scholars at all career stages interesting in sharing work that draws upon post-structural approaches to social theory. Whilst Foucault is already an important reference point for many CIES members the SIG also encourages engagement with other leading voices that are less audible within CIE (e.g. Agamben, Baudrillard, Butler, Derrida, Deleuze, Lacan, Rancière, Mbembe and Lather to name but a few). Recognizing that theory itself might be viewed as a constraining metanarrative, the SIG also takes inspiration from alternative intellectual horizons that might include mysticism, indigenous knowledges and Eastern religions. In this sense, the SIG is an invitation to work with, problematize and celebrate difference in social life, using this to inspire and regenerate the field of CIE.

Chair:  Jonathan Friedman, New York University (j.friedman@nyu.edu)
Chair:  Susanne Ress, Humboldt University Berlin (susanne.ress@hu-berlin.de)

 


Religion and Education SIG

Religion and Education SIG is a newly established SIG for the purpose of comparatively explore the links between education and religion across national, historical, and civilizational contexts. The SIG will foster an interdisciplinary dialogue and international collaboration focusing on the implications from the study of education-religion links for all fields of educational research and practice.


Chair: Robert Osburn, Wilberforce Academy (bob@wilberforceacademy.org)
Chair: Elena B Lisovskaya, Western Michigan University (elena.lisovskaya@wmich.edu)
Secretary:  Bruce Collet,  Bowling Green State University (
colleba@bgsu.edu)

 


Teacher Education and the Teaching Profession SIG

The Teacher Education and the Teaching Profession SIG facilitates dissemination of information and fosters dialogues about critical issues in teaching and teacher education from national and international perspectives. Teachers/teacher educators/researchers are given an opportunity and a framework for discourse on issues, concerns, and successes pertaining to teaching and the teaching profession in each country.


Chair: Gerardo Aponte-Martinez, Michigan State University (apontege@msu.edu)
Vice-Chair: Susan Wiksten, University of California Los Angeles (wiksten@gseis.ucla.edu)
Program Chair: Syd Merz, (smerz2009@gmail.com)
Awards Chair: Andrene Wilson, University of Texas at Austin (andrenecastro@utexas.edu)
Secretary: Charlina Gozali, Claremont Graduate University (charlina.gozali@cgu.edu)
Web Coordinator: Sarah Lillo, University of California Los Angeles (slillo@ucla.edu)

 


Teaching Comparative Education SIG

The Teaching Comparative Education SIG brings together scholars and instructors of comparative and international education from around the world. It is dedicated to understanding and enhancing the contours of course work in the field and promoting comparative and international education in higher education.


Chair: Jacqueline Mosselson, University of Massachusetts Amherst (jrm@umass.edu)
Vice- Chair: Matthew A.M. Thomas, University of Sydney (matthew.thomas@sydney.edu.au)
Secretary/Treasurer: Paula Kornakova (
p.korsnakova@iea.nl)

 


Youth Development and Education SIG

The Youth Development and Education SIG provides a forum for researchers and practitioners involved in the global study of comparative and international education to debate and exchanges ideas related to youth development and secondary education. 

Chair: David Balwanz, University of Johannesburg (dbalwanz@gmail.com)
Chair: Arushi Terway, Education Policy Specialist (at2743@tc.columbia.edu)

 

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal