Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse
Regional SIGs
Share |

The following CIES SIGS represent a geographical region of study. 

 

Africa SIG

The Africa SIG aims to foster a sense of community among their members, inform the membership of best practices and current research in the field, and provide a valuable space for networking and dialoguing on Africa education.

Chairperson: Touorizou Herve Some, Ripon College (someh@ripon.edu)
Program chair: Jody L McBrien, University of South Florida (
jlmcbrie@sar.usf.edu)
Secretary: Ademola Akinrinola, Michigan State University (
ademola_akinrinola@yahoo.co.uk)
Treasurer: Gia Cromer, GNAN Education Consultancy Group (gia@gnaneducation.com)
Communications  Chair: Rebecca Bayeck, Morgan State University (baryonne28@gmail.com)
Communications Chair: Joan Oviawe, Cornell University (joosa26@gmail.com)


East Asia SIG

The East Asia SIG aims to formalize and strengthen communication among scholars of East Asia, and to help the larger CIES membership become better acquainted with East Asian education and societies.

Chair: Yingyi Ma, Syracuse University (yma03@syr.edu)
Chair: Takehito Kamata, University of Minnesota (kama0086@umn.edu)
Chair: Xiangyan Liu, Angel Education (xyannie.liu@gmail.com)
Program Chair: Takehito Kamata, University of Minnesota (kama0086@umn.edu)


Eurasia SIG

The Eurasia SIG SIG will bring together educational researchers and practitioners working on or in Eurasia.

Chair: Katerina Bodovski, Pennsylvania State University (KaterinaB@psu.edu)
Chair: Serhiy Kovalchuk, University of Toronto (serhiy.kovalchuk@utoronto.ca)
Secretary: Elise Ahn, KIMEP University (e.ahn@kimep.kz)
Treasurer: Marina Kudasova, Lehigh University (mvkudasova@gmail.com)


Latin America SIG

The Latin America SIG includes Latin Americanist educators, leaders, and scholars who offer through their research and experiences the opportunity to celebrate the accomplishment of goals and the launching of projects in the region, open the dialogue regarding the region’s educational experiences, achievements and challenges.

Chair: Martina Arnal (arna0026@umn.edu)
Chair: Maria Schwedelm, University of Minnesota (schwe546@umn.edu)
Secretary: Maria Jesús Rojas-Lira, Teacher's College, Columbia University (mjr2208@tc.columbia.edu)
Media Officer: Diana Rodriguez-Gómez, Universidad de los Andes (Dmr2164@tc.columbia.edu)
Treasurer: Fernanda Pineda, Florida International University (fernanda_pinedac@yahoo.com)
 


Middle East SIG

The Middle East SIG SIG brings together scholars, educators, and development practitioners interested in the study of the region. Through high quality scholarship, dissemination, and service we seek to enhance educational policy, programming, and pedagogy, and to foster understanding of the region’s peoples more generally. The MESIG is not associated with any political or religious affiliation. Our geographic scope includes the broader Middle East and North Africa region, as well as locales with historic or contemporary ties to the region and their peoples.

Chair: Nagwa Megahed, The American University in Cairo (nmegahed@aucegypt.edu)
Chair: Bassel Akar, Notre Dame University -Louaize, Lebanon (bassel.akar@gmail.com)


South Asia SIG

The South Asia SIG SIG provides a systematic forum to bring together those of us working on and interested in educational issues related to South Asia and the South Asian Diaspora.

Chair: Matthew Witenstein, University of Redlands (matthew_witenstein@redlands.edu)

Secretary: Maulshree Gangwar, Columbia University (mg3393@tc.columbia.edu)

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal