Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse
Honorary Fellows
Share |

The Honorary Fellows Award was established by CIES in 1982 to honor senior members of the society who through a period of life-long service and contribution to the field of comparative and international education as evidenced by scholarship, teaching, research and technical service have advanced the field qualitatively and significantly. The award was established to recognize those scholars who have made the most marked contributions to growth in the field.

The criteria for selection of CIES Honorary Fellows are as follows:

  • An outstanding record in two of the following areas in comparative and international education, and an adequate involvement in the third area:
    • Scholarly research and publication
    • Teaching and mentoring
    • Policy, planning, evaluation, technical assistance and administrative activities
  • A significant contribution to the development and quality of the Society
  • A long and distinguished career spanning more than 30 years; normally the candidate will be 60 years or older
  • Long and active membership in CIES, including the years immediately prior to nomination

The CIES Awards Committee invites nominations for the Honorary Fellows Award to be considered in 2016, named in 2017, and awarded at the annual CIES meeting in 2018. Nomination of candidates must be supported by the following items:

A letter of nomination by the chief nominator outlining the case for the nomination, with input if desired by the other nominators, and signed by the chief nominator.

A minimum of five supporting letters from five current members of the CIES outlining the candidate’s strengths in each of the relevant areas. Additional letters from non-CIES members may be added at the discretion of the nominator.

A copy of the candidate’s full academic curriculum vitae for the entire career.

These documents should be submitted by email attachment to the chair of the Honorary Fellows Sub-Committee. The nominator is requested to preserve a hard copy of the entire package with original signed letters to be sent to the CIES Archives after the nomination and decision process is completed. Advance notice may be given to the sub-committee of an impending nomination, and nominators are welcome to email to the Sub-committee Chair (below) for clarification of the process.

Nominations of candidates for the Honorary Fellows Award should be submitted to the Honorary Fellows Sub-committee Chair Carol Anne Spreen, New York University (

Deadline for submission of nominations: November 1, 2016

Hard Copies must be mailed to:


Office of the Executive Director

Florida International University

11200 SW 8th St  GL 465

Miami FL 33199

Submission Deadline:

Deadline for submission of nominations: November 1. 2016


Questions may be address to Honorary Fellows Sub-committee Chair, Carol Anne Spreen, New York University  ( 

Honorary Fellows:


Claude Eggersten

Arnold Anderson


Harold Noah

Philip Foster


Mary Jean Bowman

Andreas Kazamias

Gerald H. Read

Murray Thomas


Max A. Eckstein


Noel McGinn


Don Adams


Roland Paulston


Elizabeth Sherman Swing


Norma Tarrow


Mathew Zachariah


Robert Arnove


Joseph P. Farrell

William M. Rideout


Vandra Masemann


Martin Carnoy


John Hawkins


Ruth Hayhoe


Erwin Epstein


Val Rust


David Evans


Robert Lawson


John (Jack) Schwille

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal